Zum Inhalt springen

From the ocean.
For the ocean.

Our fruits do not fall from the tree, rather they grow in the crystal-clear fjords of Norway and off the Irish coast. These European seaweeds are the basis of our delicious vegan snacks: 100% organic, gluten-free and with a healthy portion of iodine.

Whether for snacking on-the-go or elevating a meal, OCEANFRUIT products are the perfect vegan alternative for those who yearn to not only taste the ocean, but to protect it and give it back to its fishy inhabitants. Or as we say,
“From the ocean. For the ocean.”

Teamfoto mit Flaggen
Brunch mit OCEANFRUIT
Algen farmen in Norwegen
Flaggen hissen in Norwegen
OCEANFRUIT Gläser in Norwegen
Nahaufnahme Meeresalge
previous arrow
next arrow

Meet the world's best team


Janis

Back Office

🍬 Favorite snack: liquorice!


Thao

Marketing

🏞 Sets her next travel destination

as her screensaver


Lilith

Business Development

🤸🏼‍♀️ Does handstands whenever

she gets bored


Thorsten

Product Development

👨🏼‍🍳 Skilled chef and our

resident culinary expert


Leonie

Product Development

🛒 Goes supermarket shopping
to relax


Sarah

Business Development

🥌 Was on the English national
curling team for 4 years


Jacob

Co-Founder

🚴🏻 Has lost more bicycles

than he's owned


Deniz

Co-Founder

🤳🏽Insists that she has

unproportionally long arms


Jana

Operations

⚡️Has read every Harry Potter

book at least 5 times


Robin

Marketing

🎬 Once played the lead role

in a feature film


Sabrina

Product Development

✈️ Ist lieber 4 Stunden früher am Flughafen


Miriam

Product Development

🌱 Developed seaweed jerky at uni

and has been a fan ever since!


Christophe

Business Development

🏔 Wanderte bereits über die Alpen

and worked on a farm there


Michi

Performance Marketing

👀 Auf der Suche nach DEM Lasagne-Rezept

recipe like Nonna used to make

We work with universities, seaweed farmers and experts from all over the world to develop novel and innovative cultivation and production methods for this unique resource. Our supportive network advises us on the right way forward when we try new things.

OUR STORY

Jacob von Manteuffel set forth to shoot a documentary about seaweed pioneers in Asia and Europe (The Seaweed Project ) in 2018, while studying for his MSc in Resource Management. It quickly dawned on him that seaweed hasn’t reached its full potential when it comes to our diets. He wondered how it can be that seaweed is still such a foreign ingredient to us, yet it is also the answer to pressing sustainability questions?!

Shortly after, cookbook author and innovation manager, Deniz Ficicioglucame on board. At this point, Deniz had already published two cookbooks (further information at fructopia.de) and worked with food startups on shaping the future of food. Ever since then, Jacob and Deniz have been turning European organic seaweed into food products for everyday consumption. In doing so, they’re realizing their common vision: To build a sustainable alternative to the fishing industry through seaweed-based delicacies that everyone can enjoy.

We use cookies in order to give you the best possible experience on our website.
By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read more.
Accept
Reject

Zum Inhalt springen

Aus Liebe zum Meer.

Unsere Früchte fallen nicht vom Baum, sondern wachsen in den kristallklaren Fjorden Norwegens sowie vor der Küste Irlands. Wir stellen köstliche vegane Snacks, Pasten und Gemüsegerichte aus europäischen Meeresalgen her: 100% bio, glutenfrei und mit einer gesunden Portion Jod.

Unsere Produkte sind, egal ob für zwischendurch oder zum Verfeinern ganzer Gerichte, die perfekte vegane Alternative für alle, die das Meer gern schmecken und gern haben – denn OCEANFRUIT sorgt für mehr Meer für all seine fischigen Bewohner.

Teamfoto mit Flaggen
Brunch mit OCEANFRUIT
Algen farmen in Norwegen
Flaggen hissen in Norwegen
OCEANFRUIT Gläser in Norwegen
Nahaufnahme Meeresalge
previous arrow
next arrow

World’s Best Team

Janis

Backoffice

🍬 Lieblingssnack: Lakritze!

Thao

Marketing

🏞 Hat das nächste Reiseziel

immer als Bildschirmschoner

Lilith

Business Development

🤸🏼‍♀️ Macht bei Langeweile gerne

mal einen Handstand

Thorsten

Product Development

👨🏼‍🍳 Gelernter Koch und

unser Kulinarik-Experte

Leonie

Product Development

🛒 Geht zur Entspannung gern im Supermarkt einkaufen

Sarah

Marketing

🥌 War 4 Jahre in der englischen Nationalmannschaft für Curling

Lina

Business Development

🇳🇱 Ist in Holland aufgewachsen

Jacob

Co-Founder

🚴🏻 Hat mehr Fahrräder verloren

als er je besessen hat

Rieke

Marketing

🐻 Eine der wenigen

Berliner*innen im Team!

Annelie

Product Development

🐄 Lebensziel: eine Farm besitzen

Deniz

Co-Founderin

🤳🏽 Behauptet sie hätte

unproportional lange Arme

Jana

Operations

⚡️Hat jedes Harry Potter-Buch

mehr als 5x gelesen

Miriam

Product Development

🌱 Entwickelte in der Uni Algen-Jerky

und seitdem Algenfan!

Wir arbeiten mit Universitäten, Algenfarmer*innen und Algenexperten*innen aus aller Welt zusammen, um innovative neue Anbau- und Fertigungsmethoden zu entwickeln, die dieser besonderen Ressource gerecht werden. Dieses starke Netzwerk unterstützt uns, wenn wir mal nicht weiterwissen.

UNSERE GESCHICHTE

Jacob von Manteuffel zieht 2018 als Master-Student im Bereich Ressourcenmanagement um die Welt und dreht eine Dokumentation (The Seaweed Project auf YouTube) über die Algen-Pioniere in Asien und Europa. Schnell ist ihm klar, dass die Meeresalgen ihren großen Auftritt in unserem Ernährungsalltag noch vor sich haben. Wie kann es sein, dass wir dieses wertvolle Nahrungsmittel nicht nutzen, ist es doch die Antwort auf viele brennende Nachhaltigkeitsfragen?!

Kurze Zeit später geht Deniz Ficicioglu, Innovationsmanagerin und Kochbuchautorin, mit an Bord. Deniz hat zu dem Zeitpunkt bereits zwei Kochbücher veröffentlicht (weiterführende Informationen auf fructopia.de) und in Food-Start-ups die Zukunft der Ernährung erforscht. Beide entwickeln seither aus europäischen Bio-Meeresalgen Lebensmittel für jeden Tag und folgen damit einer gemeinsamen Vision: Mit pflanzlichen Produkten auf Algenbasis – die Jede*r sofort probieren möchte – eine Alternative zur Fischerei aufbauen!

We use cookies in order to give you the best possible experience on our website.
By continuing to use this site, you agree to our use of cookies. read more
Accept
Reject